EC Expert Group Participation

TakeLab’s Goran Glavaš participated in the work of the European Commission’s expert group on “Impact Assessment Methodologies for European Research Area (ERA)”. TakeLab was invited to participate in developing the methodologies for evaluating the impact of the European Research Area policies on the research and development outputs of research performing organizations and EU member states.

As a data analyst, Goran was part of the group of econometricians, along with Prof. Annie Morin (INRIA/IRISA Institue Rennes) Prof. Paul Zagame (University Paris 1), Dr. Anna-Leena Asikainen (Luxembourg Institute of Science and Technology), Dr. Giovanni Mangiarotti (Luxembourg Institute of Science and Technology), and Prof. Cinzia Daraio (La Sapienza University in Rome). The group worked on developing the data-driven models for explaining the influence of implementation of European Research Area policies on research and development outputs (patents, publications, PhD graduates).

The expert group started their work in January 2014, and submitted their final report to the R&D Commissioner Máire Geoghegan-Quinn in October 2014.